Walks and Drives

I am constantly wishing that I lived close enough to work that I could walk or ride a bike.  Especially with the crisp fall weather rolling in.  Stepping out of the car garage yesterday I was greeted with a fresh breeze rolling in off of the harbor.  It swept through my hair, rushing my my ears and flapping my scarf against my shoulders.  Walking in I was marveling at the beauty of downtown, the little things that caught my attention in the bright evening light.  Things I would miss had I parked right outside of the theatre.

But at the same time there are sights I see in the car.  Every evening riding into work I turn a corner on the expressway and suddenly the buildings, cranes, and ships of Norfolk arise from the ground.  Outlined against the blue sky and violet clouds, black lite by the setting sun.

Leave a Reply

