More Than the Moon

Do distance and time matter,
or are they only relative?
A hundred years is endless for me.
A hundred miles is boundless for you.

I can cover the entire moon
with just my thumb.
As you stare at its dark spot
which is larger than your country.

When I am settling down to bed,
you’ve slept for hours. As you
wake up I am still soundly sleeping.
If I long for you as you
dream of me are we connected?

I’d wait all the years
if you’d travel all the miles.
For it’s all worth it, waiting
for that moment when we are connected
by more than just the moon.

-Dawn Wilfong

3 thoughts on “More Than the Moon

Leave a Reply

