New Kitten Perspectives

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything.  A while ago I finished settling into our new apartment, I really do find it quite calming.  Now that we have a window seat I can really enjoy the beautiful sunsets we’ve been getting recently.

My job started back up.  It’s reassuring and frustrating that not much has changes since the spring.  I’m trying to focus on the positive and familiar aspects of work rather than the aggravating, but sometimes it’s hard.  Hard to step back and get the perspective that I’m blessed that I get to do what I love and earn a living (meager though it may be at times) I get to do what I love.  It’s just hard to remember sometimes since it seems to be a love-hate kind of thing.  I love it so much that I hate it when things don’t always go as well as I think they should.

We also adopted a new kitten, my other roommate moved her cat out since she is on tour and he old roommate offered to permanently adopt him.  The new kitten is wonderful, she spends most days lounging about the apartment, often curled in a window or sprawled on the floor.  She gets a bit crazy in the evenings, but she only attacks her toys and occasionally hugs my legs as I walk around the apartment.  In many ways I feel like I have a small child rather than a kitten.  Almost every morning I wake up to her, occassionally before I would have liked to, she’ll meow and rub up against me until I start scratching her chin and get up to feed her.  She cries every now and then, sometimes just because she has wandered into another room and discovers she is all alone.  But once I call to her she’ll come running and start purring.  No matter how my day has been going, she has yet to fail at cheering me up and making everything feel alright.  She allows me to get a glimpse at the fact that as long as I can feed myself, have a safe place to sleep at night and someone to love me, my life is going well.

Leave a Reply

