NaNoWriMo – Day 1

Today kicks off National Novel Writing Month.  Last year I made my first attempt, but a new project at work and life got in the way and I quickly abandoned that attempt.  This year I am going to give it another go.

Last year’s novel was an idea I had bouncing around in my head for a few months based on a character I created for Shadowrun.  I love the character and the novel idea.  But when I sat down to write it everything went blank.  Suddenly I had no idea what my characters would do, how to get them into the story, where to go next.  After several attempts throughout the past year I’ve decided to place that novel on hold.

This year I have most of the novel already plotted out.  How, you ask.  It’s based on a campaign Ryan recently ran in Savage Worlds.  The campaign was a one shot space horror.  There are similarities to a lot of other space horror books and films, but the “bad guy” in this campaign was unconventional and thrilling.  Ryan likes the idea of co-opting the idea into a story, it will be fun having someone else to bounce ideas off of and help shape the narrative.

This is my first attempt at writing horror, specifically a psychological horror.  So far I’m writing from a first person view, mostly diary entries and possibly a few reports/news articles to provide background information.  We’ll see how it goes.

To help with the writing I am also setting myself a goal to post everyday in November.  There will probably be a lot of excerpts of the novel and a few silly things since most of my writing attention will be on the novel.  My hope is that I can get myself into the habit of updating and make it a regular thing.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

