Big, Black, Scary Wall

Today I rearranged my office at work.

I moved to this office about a month ago.  One of the perks of the office is that it has a window.  And we’re not talking about a tiny window that barely lets in any light.  One wall is a window.  For the past month I have enjoyed the natural light.  Enjoyed not needing to turn on the overhead florescent except for on the gloomiest days.  But this week, something changed.  With daylight’s savings it gets dark about an hour before I get off work.  Not only does this mean I have to turn on the overhead light.  But it also means that the window suddenly becomes a big black, scary wall.

How my office was arranged, my back was to the window.  So for the first hour of the day I was dealing with a lot of glare on my computer screen from the rising sun, and the last hour I was constantly looking over my shoulder expecting to see something out of a horror film pressed up against the glass.

Dark windows have always creeped me out.  Growing up I would always close the curtains when I was home alone at night.  Not because I didn’t want people seeing in.  Because those black windows always seemed to be hiding something.  I always was expecting something to suddenly emerge from the black.  Of course when a friend of mine once sneaked around to our backyard and popped up in one of the windows I almost had a heart attack.

So having my back to a wall of black, it was not going to work.  Did I forget to mention I spend most of my day emerged in ghost stories… yeah that doesn’t help either.

But now it’s kind of fixed.  The window is now to my right when I am seated at my desk.  At least if anything does try to scare me I’ll see it coming, illuminated in the light from the parking lot.

Leave a Reply

