5 Years & 2 Months

My first post on this blog was back in 2008.  It has been 5 years and 2 months since that post.  If you had asked 2008 me where I would be in 5 years, I don’t think I would have predicted where I am now.  A lot has changed in those 5 years. I’ve changed.  And I think it’s mostly for the better.

In 2008, I had just moved across the country to a new city and new job.  I had just graduated college, knew that I loved theatre and stage managing; but was unsure where to go next.

2008 Me would have told you that in 5 years she wanted to be stage managing at a regional theater.  Possibly move to Chicago, or another major city (not NYC) with a large theatre scene.  Perhaps spend a few years on a cruise ship or move to England.  She probably would have said that she wanted to be dating someone.  Possibly she would be in grad school, pursuing a Masters in theatre management.

2008 Me was a bit indecisive.  I was out on my own for the first time and trying to figure out what that meant and who I was.

2013 Me is not the person 2008 Me imagined.  I am still living in the same city that in 2008 I had just moved to.  I am no longer working in theatre, although I am still active in the local scene.  I am engaged to the most wonderful man, we support and understand each other.  Most of my day is spent at a desk, rather than backstage.

In the past 5 years: I have finally figured out how to knit.  I have had my heart broken by the wrong guy.  I’ve fallen in love with the right guy. I’ve adopted a cat, and a snake.  I’ve moved twice times.  I moved my way up to ASM and then company manager.  I was laid off.  I started a new career.   I got my first IMDB credit. I was introduced to RPGs.  I went to my first convention.  I’ve started two novels.  I’ve felt completely lost and alone. And I’ve found myself and the people who are my local family.

Asking yourself “where do I see myself in five years” is a valuable exercise.

So where do I see myself in another 5 years?  I’m not entirely sure.  Probably working either full time or freelance as either a producer or stage manager.  Living close to the university Ryan is teaching at.  Probably with a dog added into the mix.  Possibly with a kid or two.

But I’m not going to set a definite 5 year goal.  Instead I’m going to take it one thing at a time. Keeping the future in mind without passing up a possibility just because it doesn’t fit in my plan.  Going with my instincts has gotten me to a pretty amazing place.  I’m looking forward to where it will lead me next.

Leave a Reply

