Read Through

Last night was the first read through for a show I am stage managing.  Sitting at the table, surrounded by the cast, I got lost for a few moments in the play.

First read through is one of my favorite rehearsals.  There are no blocking notes, no props to coordinate.  It is one of the few rehearsals that a stage manager can actually listen to the play.  I mean really listen.

Characters are still being fleshed out, but just listening to the rhythm of the cast I always get a glimpse at what kind of show and experience this production will be.  How well the voices blend or stand out from each other give a hint to how the cast will be as an ensemble.

One thought on “Read Through

  1. Awww, yes…my favorite part as well. I begin auditions for this next play that I’m assisting directing in this Sunday and I’m already looking forward to casting just for the read through. I can only hope one day to experience the melodious voices of those readying one of my plays.

    Like

Leave a Reply

