Lessons From Board Games

You don’t step straight up to the front of the ATM line. You don’t cut in front of people at the ticket desk. You take your turn. You can learn great life lessons from board games.

Garry Oldman

I grew up playing board games.  Our family regularly had a game night where we all would gather around the dining room table and play a game together. After moving out, I’ve continued playing board games with family and friends.

While trading sheep for wood I got to know my sister-in-law. While trusting my partner to call the right trump I became part of my band section.  While trying to save the world from a pandemic I met new friends.

Over pawns and kings I learned how to look ahead, take a loss for a long term win. “It’s not over til the Kings go wild” showed me that you can’t always anticipate the outcome until you reach the end.  Green and red apples showed me that the experience is more rewarding than the win.  Right hand yellow taught me to be flexible and make the most out of power outages.

Board games have taught me to be patient on others turns so they will be patient with me.  They’ve taught me the value of listening to the rules and using them to my advantage.  Games have taught me to enjoy a win and to equally enjoy a friend’s win.

Board games have always been a part of my life, I hope to pass the tradition and lessons on.

In the words of Wil Wheaton, “Play more games!”

Leave a Reply

