Prepping for GenCon

Less than a week for GenCon 2015 and I still have a lot to do.IMG_1063

I’ve got my packing list and it’s pretty much finalized. At this point I’m just adding last minute things here and there just so I don’t forget anything. Stuff like a reminder to pack hand sanitizer, business cards, etc.  Hold on a sec, just thought of something else to add…

Alright, that’s taken care of.

There have been a few last minute additions to my schedule, panels I want to see mostly, but I think it’s pretty much set.  This year I’ve tried my best to make sure to give myself time to grab food throughout the convention.  Last year I had a few days of madly trying to grab food on the run.  There is one day that might be tight, to combat any hangriness that day I’m planning on packing several granola bars and bringing my water bottle.

The last two years I’ve struggled with the bags I’ve brought along. The first year I was carrying way to much stuff in a poorly designed bag and it wrecked my shoulder. It even was painful after utilizing the massage therapists on site. My second year I swung too far the other direction and carried too few things. Resulting in not having water or snacks on a day when I didn’t have time to grab lunch. So last week I went out and bought a new bag. It’s big enough to carry the essentials and have some extra room for small purchases. The hope is to find the happy medium this year, to not kill my shoulders and still have the essentials.

The biggest thing I have to do in the next few days is finish my cosplay. Oh my gosh I’ve put this off. I still have to finish the chest and back-plate, make the pauldrons, and make the skirt. I think I’ve procrastinated too much to be able to finish the sword on top of everything else.

If you are wondering who I am cosplaying, here are two hints: The armor is turquoise. She is a main character in a comic.

Think you know? Well you’ll have to wait until next Saturday to find out!

Leave a Reply

