Goals for 2017

Goals for 2017

2017 is going to be a good year. It’s going to be a good year. I recently saw this quote and I think it is a good summary to how I’m approaching 2017:

Be kind. Make art. Read good books. Take no shit.

(If anyone knows who that quote is from, please let me know) I’m going to make this the year where I accomplish my goals. I’m going to make 2017, my year.

So what are my goals? Well, they fall into a few categories:

Ukulele

  • Practice 3 times a week
  • Learn 2 songs

I’ve been wanting to learn guitar or ukulele for years. I even bought myself a ukulele several years ago, since then it’s mostly sat forgotten in my closet. Not this year. So I’m setting a goal to practice weekly, and by the end of the year I want to be able to play at least 2 songs well enough that I can sing along to them.

Make Videos

  • 40 videos this year
  • Invest in equipment

We’re changing a few things up on Roll 4 Initiative and branching out some. This will allow us to make a wider variety of videos, so if I’m not feeling into making a gaming video but want to make a video about a trip we went on or books, whatever, I’ll feel like I can and it will still fit on our channel. I also want to invest in some equipment and possibly better software to make our videos better and make the process easier. Easier process: more likely to pull out the equipment to make a video.

Write

  • Write 3 times a week
  • Camp NaNoWriMo
  • First draft

I’ve had two different novels bouncing around in my head for over a year now. This is the year I want to get at least one of them solidly down on paper. So I’m going to participate in Camp NaNoWriMo in April or July (depending on work and some life events). I am also aiming to write weekly; whether that’s working on fiction, journaling, or blogging. With all that together, I am aiming to have a first draft of at least one of those novels finished by the end of the year.

Read

  • 30 new books

I want to continue reading at least once a day. The new part is that I want to read new books this year, I want to branch out with my reading and not just go back to authors and books I have already read and know I love.

Health

  • Drink at least 3 glasses of water a day
  • Yoga at least 5 times a week
  • Lift at least 3 times a week

As I’m getting older, I’m noticing more aches and pains. While I probably will never get back to the body I had in my early 20s, I can take care of the body I have now and make sure my future self is healthy and happy.

What are your goals for 2017? How are you going to make this year, your year?

 

Leave a Reply

