I’m Starting Something New

I’m Starting Something New

Now that I’m in my 30s health has become more of a priority. And I’ve had a number of people tell me it’s easier to maintain health than get healthy. Plus I’ve noticed my body doesn’t handle life as easily than it did even 5 years ago. So I figured now was the time to get into a healthy routine while I’m still in relatively good shape. Several of my goals I set at the beginning of the year were focused on health.  Specifically, I wanted to drink 3 glasses of water per day, do yoga 5 times per week, and lift 3 times per week.

So how am I doing?

Well, I’ve stuck with the 3(ish) glasses of water per day. There have probably been a few days where I may have been a little short, but overall I am really pleased with this goal. One thing that helped a lot is I cut out almost all soda and replaced it with water. And already, four months into the year, I’m feeling the different and have noticed some changes, specifically my skin.

The yoga goal has been hit and miss. I’ll have a week where I’m up every morning doing yoga. But then I’ll allow myself a day off and suddenly the next thing I know I haven’t done any yoga for a week.

Lifting, well… that just hasn’t really happened.

But I did start something I hadn’t planned to do back when I was setting goals. I started couch to 5k training. And I’m actually enjoying it and sticking with it. (Knock on wood.) 5 weeks in and only 3 to go.

So with this couch to 5k, I’ve started noticing changes. I feel more energized, productive, and overall feel better about myself. Part of why I think I’ve stuck with it is having a set routine. Knowing I have to run 3 times a week to stay on track. The other thing is that I’ve been posting on instagram with each run. It helps keep me accountable (cause if I’m not posting then I’m not running) and feels like a little reward in a strange way.

This has gotten me thinking about how to utilize social media as a motivation for the rest of my health. I’ve also just finished watching 100days on Youtube and that sparked an idea. What if I do my own 100days project and post each day?

That gives me a set amount of time that’s a little more manageable than an entire year but long enough that if I do slip up I still have time to get myself back on track. And by promising to post, I have something external holding me accountable. You guys.

Follow me on twitter and instagram @hiddenoffstage. And stay tuned for the plan for this 100day project/challenge.

One thought on “I’m Starting Something New

Leave a Reply

